The Whole Point of Being Here

OK folks, I am sure I made it clear that the real reason for this trip is dental work. It is less expensive to fly 3 time zones to another continent and pay rent in an apartment for 3 months, eat every meal out and do some sight seeing than it would be to get the work I need done in Dubai.

How much cheaper?
Well, I started the process today. In a very modern office with a young very professional dentist who speaks perfect english, and quite frankly expained things to me better tah any US dentist I have ever had.
I had an examination, consultation, an extraction of a very bothersome tooth that has been the bain of my existance for the last year, for 1800 baht. A dollar is worth 32.5 baht, you do the math. No I’ll do it for you, all that for USD 55.38. And it was painless, which you cannot buy. I told him I am a real wimp and if he would normally put 5mm in the shot, make it 100. Then I told him that I needed painkillers for after I leave. (Only MDs and dentists can sell you painkillers, not the pharmacies, fair enough.) I told him to load me up so I did not have to hunt him down in the middle of the night. He gave me enough codiene derivative pills to sedate Seabiscuit. All included in the 1800 baht.
I am staying in the same hotel as my cousin. He has lived here nearly five years and says “there is no downside.” Coisin Jon lived and worked as an expt almosty his entire carreer. He has seen a lot of the world, and decided to retire here about twenty years ago. He is showing me around town, and trying to teach me the names of landmarks to tell the tootook driver so I can get from point A to point B. He also knows every expat  owned eatery in town, better yet, they know him. And there are a lot of them!
Chaing Mai is a town of roughly 800,000, 1.2 million of you count the outlying areas. A lot of the economy is based on tourism, well a portion of it anyway. Tourism is down. I would hazard to guess there are as many flashpackers here right now as there are in Bocas in the high season, but in a town this size, that does not start to fill the hotels or the eateries.
I have until Friday to “recover” from the dentist today. Friday we do another extraction and some piece of work I actually prescribed to him, and he said he could do. I am sure it is the best course of action right now. Then there will be a couple of impants. If I can get it all done in 3 months (due to “recovery”  time) I will be happy.
I did not bring my Arabian Mandress to lounge around in so today I picked up 3 silk (everything here is silk it seems) Sarongs. All 3 for US 7.70 Hear that Kiwi?
Tonite my supper will be cold soup prepared by one of John’s friends. In fact this guy’s eatery is across the street and it is called the Spirit House. I ate there last night and had home made Saurkraut and sausage, with a very large bottle of Thai beer for about $6.
I could see retiring in Thailand…..

OKI folks, I am sure I made it clear that the real reason for this trip is dental work. It is less expensive to fly 3 time zones to another continent and pay rent in an apartment for 3 months, eat every meal out and do some sight seeing than it would be to get the work I need done in Dubai. How much cheaper? Well, I started the process today. In a very modern office with a young very professional dentist who speaks perfect english, and quite frankly expained things to me better tah any US dentist I have ever had.I had an examination, consultation, an extraction of a very bothersome tooth that has been the bain of my existance for the last year, for 1800 baht. A dollar is worth 32.5 baht, you do the math. No I’ll do it for you, all that for USD 55.38. And it was painless, which you cannot buy. I told him I am a real wimp and if he would normally put 5mm in the shot, make it 100. Then I told him that I needed painkillers for after I leave. (Only MDs and dentists can sell you painkillers, not the pharmacies, fair enough.) I told him to load me up so I did not have to hunt him down in the middle of the night. He gave me enough codiene derivative pills to sedate Seabiscuit. All included in the 1800 baht.I am staying in the same hotel as my cousin. He has lived here nearly five years and says “there is no downside.” Coisin Jon lived and worked as an expt almosty his entire carreer. He has seen a lot of the world, and decided to retire here about twenty years ago. He is showing me around town, and trying to teach me the names of landmarks to tell the tootook driver so I can get from point A to point B. He also knows every expat  owned eatery in town, better yet, they know him. And there are a lot of them!Chaing Mai is a town of roughly 800,000, 1.2 million of you count the outlying areas. A lot of the economy is based on tourism, well a portion of it anyway. Tourism is down. I would hazard to guess there are as many flashpackers here right now as there are in Bocas in the high season, but in a town this size, that does not start to fill the hotels or the eateries.I have until Friday to “recover” from the dentist today. Friday we do another extraction and some piece of work I actually prescribed to him, and he said he could do. I am sure it is the best course of action right now. Then there will be a couple of impants. If I can get it all done in 3 months (due to “recovery”  time) I will be happy. I did not bring my Arabian Mandress to lounge around in so today I picked up 3 silk (everything here is silk it seems) Sarongs. All 3 for US 7.70 Hear that Kiwi?Tonite my supper will be cold soup prepared by one of John’s friends. In fact this guy’s eatery is across the street and it is called the Spirit House. I ate there last night and had home made Saurkraut and sausage, with a very large bottle of Thai beer for about $6. I could see retiring in Thailand…..

About forrestwalker

An expat living overseas, traveling with my wife extensively and sharing the experiences with you!.

Posted on June 15, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. One nit-noy comment:

    The city of Chiang Mai has a population of 250,000.

    ***
    rough translation of nit-noy: itsy-bitsy, teeny-tiny

  2. Charles Freeman

    Flat-out a-may-zing!

Leave a Reply

